PDA

View Full Version : looking for a "first" electric guitar

cubis
02-03-2009, 12:50 AM
ok well technically i had an electric guitar for like 5 months when i was in highschool, but since it was a very intense year i didn't have a lot of time to play it and my mom pawned it when i was away on vacation with some friends

since then i have had an acoustic and have borrowed my friend's spare electric far too many times

well i am primarily a recording engineer, but i do like to make my own music and I was wondering what would be a good 'first' electric guitar, one that has a nice tone for recording, so that i can later add guitar amp model plugins and effects using pro tools or the like

any input would be greatly appreciated!

crazy_guitar_man
02-03-2009, 12:39 PM
well i do not know about for recording but my first guitar was a squier 51...then i moved onto a epiphone lespaul...but yeah i really like the tone from the squier though it sounds good for a cheap guitar...

cubis
02-03-2009, 02:10 PM
thanks for the suggestion, i'll look into it!

basically a guitar will be decent for recording if it has a clean tone, with not much coloration... that way it can be more easily manipulated for your needs

crazy_guitar_man
02-03-2009, 02:20 PM
yeah the squier you can get probably for 100 to 200 and its a nice solid body, the epiphone was a les paul ultra i got mine for 600 and its a nice semi hollow body really decent for acoustic sounding when you have the switch up and very nice for leads when switch is down...so yeah overall i think it is all about your own preference so what you gotta do is go and try a bunch out and see which one is best for you

cubis
02-03-2009, 02:28 PM
i'll probably hang out at guitar center for a few hours this weekend lol

i also like to play with the keyboards since they're all hooked up and ready to be f****ed with :P

crazy_guitar_man
02-03-2009, 02:31 PM