PDA

View Full Version : What are your favorite pickups?

MrSandMan
08-19-2009, 11:33 PM
I've played factory stockers -- which some aren't bad (The pickups in my Dot On Shaft Carparelli are nice)., EMGs both active and passive and Seymour Duncan. And from my experience the Seymour Duncan are absolutely the best. EMGs are my least favorite, probably because they are just too.... active. It seems like they add unwanted color and brightness to the tone. Maybe I just needed to re-adjust the EQ on the amp for the EMGs?

What are your favorites?

Kurtastrophe.
08-20-2009, 07:22 PM
I'm not too experienced, but I've played many guitars, and I don't like EMG's either.

I like low output humbuckers like Burstbuckers, and the PRS pickups are really awesome.

Brian Krashpad
08-27-2009, 01:54 PM
I'm a Seymour Duncan fan as well. I have several different types in several different guitars. My Ravelle has the Jazz/JB combination that reportedly is the actual Seymour Duncan's favorite combination for a hot-rodded Les Paul humbucker sound. My Hamer SPecial has Duncan P-90's in it also. Both guitars featured those Duncans stock.

The bridge pickup on my LP Classic up and died, so I asked my luthier/tech guy, Tom, what Duncan I should put in to best compliment the stock ceramic magnet 496R pickup in the neck, and we went with a Custom 5, which is a hot alnico V magnet pickup, not as high output as the JB, but with a more pronounced mid-scoop (according to the numeric gradings on the Duncan website).

All of these sound grand and do exactly what they're supposed to.

Have never played EMG's and have no plans to.

MrSandMan
08-30-2009, 10:28 PM
How would you compare the Seymour to stock Gibby's? Seems stock LP Gibson's are desired pickups too.

R.B. Huckleberry
08-31-2009, 07:11 AM
The Duncan JB is my favorite bridge humbucker. I like their '59 pickup in the neck position.